Lakeside Park Lighthouse & Observation Deck
Climb this 40-ft tall working lighthouse for a spectacular view of Lake Winnebago and Lakeside Park. This city's signature attraction and most photographed structure in town. Decorated and spotlighted for the holidays every December. The Fond du Lac Lighthouse has become the symbol of the surrounding city, located at the southern end of Lake Winnebago. As you travel the streets of Fond du Lac, the image of the lighthouse is readily seen on bridges, road signs, and advertising. The community’s affinity for the lighthouse is perhaps because the beacon was built and lit during one of the city’s darkest periods. In 1932, lumberman W. J. Nuss generously offered to build a lighthouse in Lakeside Park using plans donated by the noted architect Roger A. Sutherland. The offer was quickly accepted by the park board, and work on the forty-foot tower started the following May. The bottom ten feet of the eight-sided lighthouse consists of a flagstone-covered base, while the upper section of the tower is of frame construction. A wooden staircase, attached to the interior walls of the lighthouse, winds up through the tower permitting visitors to reach the observation deck, where an excellent view of Lakeside Park is afforded.
Hours of Operation
Open mid April to mid October, 8am-dusk, weather permitting.
- On Water
- Wisconsin History
- Transportation Heritage
Dining: Near Lakeside Park Lighthouse & Observation Deck