Pilot Island Lighthouse
Built 1858, automated 1962. The original light on Plum Island, built in 1848, no longer exists because ship owners and captains complained to the Lighthouse Board that the original Plum Island light was too far to the west, so President Buchanan built the lighthouse on Pilot Island. Built of Cream City brick, this graceful structure is in dire need of repair. Closed to public. No tours. The light is visible only by water and there is no trespassing on Coast Guard property. Narrated boat tours are available through several boat tour companies that go past the lighthouse for viewing & photography mid-May to mid-Oct.
Marks the straits between Washington Island and the northern tip of the Door County peninsula.
- On Water
- Transportation Heritage