Plum Island Rear Range Lighthouse
Built in 1895. Automated in 1969 and remains an active navigational aids to this day. Closed to the public; no tours. Located between Washington Island and the tip of the peninsula. The rear range light tower, keepers' dwelling and fog signal building can be seen from the Washington Island Ferry. Front range light can only be seen form a boat approaching Death's Door from Lake Michigan. Narrated boat tours are available through several boat tour companies that go past the lighthouse for viewing and photography, mid-May to mid-Oct. Lighthouse is open during the Annual Lighthouse Festival in June through a purchased tour.
Marks the straits between Washington Island and the northern tip of the Door County peninsula.
- Transportation Heritage