Step One: Create a Trip
Step Two: Add Items
Step Three: Print and Share
Fort Winnebago Surgeons' Quarters
The Surgeon's Quarters overlook the site where Louis Joliet and Father Jacques Marquette left the Fox River at Portage in 1673. Francois LeRoi operated a portaging business; his house, built between 1819 and 1828, is now known as Surgeon's Quarters. The only remaining building of Fort Winnebago, the Surgeon's Quarters is owned, restored and maintained by Wisconsin Society Daughters of the American Revolution. Located next to the Surgeon's Quarters is the Garrison School, 1850-1960.
Hours of Operation
May 15-Oct 15, Tues-Sun: 10am-4pm.
Located 1 mile east of Portage on State Hwy 33.
- On Water
- Military Heritage
- Wisconsin History
State Historic Sign Site