Historic Richland Center Suspension Footbridge
Work on the footbridge began in 1912, enabling west side residents to walk across the river to attend functions, shop and socialize, cutting their travel time in half. A 1951 flood took out one pier, but the bridge was rebuilt and remains a landmark today. It is maintained well and lighted at nighttime. Strolling the bridge, with the wonderful swaying motion that is part of a suspension bridge, brings out the kid in everyone. The aged wood resonates the passage of ...yet the manner in which it has been carefully maintained throught the years has kept if from reflecting the burden of time.
- Transportation Heritage
Dining: Near Historic Richland Center Suspension Footbridge