One of the oldest mills in this part of the state and the last of its kind in Portage County. On Sept 10, 1855, Jerome Nelson purchased land and water rights from Anna and Charles Stoltenberg. The Mill was built around 1860, and operated as a business until 1984. Of particular interest is the Woodward governor on the turbine, which was ordered in 1917 for the Jackson Milling Company.
Just off of Hwy 10 in Amherst Junction on Hwy 161
- Wisconsin History