Plummer Mine Headframe
Opened in 1904, the Plummer Mine shaft angles downward from the headframe following a vein of ore into the earth to a depth of 2,367 feet. The Plummer Mine closed in 1924 and is the last such headframe standing in Wisconsin. From an engine house, cables ran up over the wheels at the top of the headframe and were attached to elevator cars, lowering miners and equipment underground and pulling ore cars back to the surface.
- Early Industry
- Wisconsin History
State Historic Sign Site
Dining: Near Plummer Mine Headframe