Washburn County Historical Museum
The Washburn County Historical Museum depicts the last 150 years of Washburn County, includes the St. John’s Lutheran Church, built in 1888; the former parsonage, now called the Annex, built in 1896; the Beaver Brook School Museum; and the Sky Watch Hut used during World War II. The main room of the museum exhibits early photos of the towns, homes, farms and industries that made up Washburn County. Other featured items include antique toys, phones, hotel ledger, clothes and linens, and war memorabilia. The complex also houses period rooms, including a late 1800’s farmer’s bedroom and kitchen and rooms with farming and logging tools. Washburn County Historical Museum is also a center for genealogy. You can view government, family and business records. Museum and research center are also open year round by appointment, call 715-468-2982. The church museum in Springbrook, built in 1906, was formally the St. Magdalene Catholic Church. It has been open as a museum since 1992. The museum contains local artifacts, photos, farm & medical equipment and much more.
Hours of Operation
Museums at Shell Lake and Springbrook are open Fridays and Saturdays from Memorial Day-Labor Day, 11am-4pm. Open Thursdays or by appointment in the off season.
Runs Memorial Day through Labor Day
- Wisconsin History