Mining Museum-Rollo Jamison Museum

The Mining Museum traces the development of lead and zinc mining in the Upper Mississippi Valley using models, dioramas, artifacts and photographs. A guided tour includes a walk down into the 1845 Bevans Lead Mine, a tour of the hoist house and an above ground train ride pulled by a 1931 mine locomotive. The Rollo Jamison Museum, at the same site, includes exhibits of businesses, home and family life and local history.

Hours of Operation

The Mining Museum & the Rollo Jamison Museum are open daily May-Oct 9am-5pm. Nov-April 9am-4pm (Mine tours not available)


  • Disabled Access

State Historic Sign Site

  • Yes

History/Heritage Type

  • Early Industry
  • Wisconsin History

Museum/Gallery Type

  • Historical

Tour Type

  • Train/Trolley