Tourism and Transportation Secretaries Dedicate New Frank Lloyd Wright Trail

MADISON, Wis. – Wisconsin Tourism Secretary Stephanie Klett and Transportation Secretary Mark Gottlieb gathered at Monona Terrace in Madison today for the dedication of the Frank Lloyd Wright Trail. The event celebrates the placement of the Frank Lloyd Wright Trail signage along the approximately 200-mile route in southern Wisconsin.

“Wisconsin is home to beautiful natural resources and diverse landscapes that inspired the designs of the world-famous architect,” said Klett. “The trail will help brand and elevate Wisconsin’s architectural and historic treasures, create greater visitation to the sites and generate an economic impact for the state and local communities through traveler spending.”

Born and raised in Wisconsin, Frank Lloyd Wright is widely regarded as America's greatest architect. According to Frank Lloyd Wright Wisconsin, Inc., there are more than 40 Wright-designed sites in Wisconsin, 11 of which are open to the public. The trail takes travelers on a self-guided architectural tour of nine buildings spread across nine counties, from private houses to public buildings.

The signage plan includes large freeway guide signs, route marker signs, and directional and trailblazer signs. By the end of 2016, 115 route marker signs will be installed as part of the Phase I signage.  Signs are located in Richland, Sauk, Iowa, Dane, Jefferson, Milwaukee, Racine and Kenosha counties. 

“The Wisconsin Department of Transportation is pleased to support our state’s flourishing tourism industry. We hope that the signed trail makes it easier for people to find and explore the impressive Frank Lloyd Wright buildings,” said Gottlieb.

In 2016, legislation was passed to designate and post signage directing travelers to the following nine Frank Lloyd Wright sites: SC Johnson Administration Building, SC Johnson Research Tower and Wingspread in Racine, Burnham American System Built Homes in Milwaukee, Monona Terrace Community and Convention Center  and First Unitarian Society Meeting House in Madison, Taliesin and the Frank Lloyd Wright Visitor Center and Wyoming Valley School Cultural Arts Center in Spring Green, and AD German Warehouse in Richland Center.

The mission of the Wisconsin Department of Tourism is to market the state as the Midwest’s premier travel destination for fun by executing industry-leading marketing programs and establishing strategic partnerships. The Department plays a significant role in generating greater economic impact and jobs for Wisconsin. The portal for traveler information can be found at

# # #