Established: 1836. Rebuilt: 1858. Automated: 1956. 41' tall. The original lantern was removed from the tower in the 1980s and a steel skeleton tower was built near the lighthouse that now holds the navigational aide light. In 1999, a replica lantern room was rebuilt on top of the lighthouse and a replica 4th Order Fresnal lens has also since been installed.
Hours of Operation
Tours Memorial Day weekend to Columbus Day, Daily 10am-4pm.
Located on the north end of Rock Island State Park, (only accessible by boat). The Rock Island ferry "Karfi" makes regular trips from Washington Island.
- On Water
- Transportation Heritage