Become Certified

Travel Green Certification FAQ

How do members earn their Travel Green Wisconsin certification?

To earn Travel Green certification, applicants work their way through the Travel Green Wisconsin application.  There are nine categories ranging from Purchasing to Energy Efficiency to Air Quality.  Baseline performance is collected for the amount of energy, fuel, water, and solid waste the business consumed during the last calendar year.  This allows the applicant to measure their improvements.  Applicants commit to sustainable green business practices found within the Travel Green Wisconsin application.  A minimum of 35 points are required, 7 points must be earned in the Communication & Education section.  Continual improvement is strongly encouraged.

The green categories include:

  • Communication and Education (Customers, Employees, Public)
  • Waste Reduction, Reuse, and Recycling
  • Energy Efficiency, Conservation, and Management
  • Water Conservation and Wastewater Management
  • Air Quality
  • Wildlife and Landscape Conservation and Management
  • Transportation
  • Purchasing
  • Local Community Benefits

Applicants submit a fee to participate in the certification, a biannual renewal is also required to maintain Travel Green Wisconsin certification membership.

Are there any required green practices to earn certification?

To create a green program comprehensive enough to be relevant across the diverse tourism industry, we decided to allow participants to be “ecopreneurial” and adopt the green practices that make the most sense for their operation. Applicants are required to reach a minimum of 35 cumulative points to earn Travel Green Wisconsin certification,  seven (7) or more of those points need to be achieved in the “Communication and Education” section.

For questions contact